Are you new in Arizona and looking to register your vehicle? This article has all the information you need to register your vehicle in Arizona without any hassles successfully.  Registering a car in Arizona can only be done in person. And you can do this by visiting your local MVD office. Here you’ll be required to submit vehicle title, a proof of identification, a completed application and yes, a required fee. If you can’t afford the you could always get registration loans in Phoenix. Without these documents, we are sorry, your Arizona auto registration will be declined or at most you’ll be offered a 90-day temporary registration.

To start out with registering your car in Arizona, you can obtain a registration form especially if you need some time to put together your vehicle’s paperwork. Let’s face it when it comes to registering a car in Arizona you’ll want to ensure you get it right the first time. That’s why knowing all you’ll need is just the step in the right direction. For people who live Tucson or Phoenix, it is mandatory that you pass an emission test

Registering a Car in Arizona, What Is the Snag?

If you’re new to Arizona, you’re expected to register your vehicle with the Arizona Motor Vehicle Division immediately after establishing residency. And in Arizona, residency goes way beyond just having a permanent address. Far from it, you’re considered a native of Arizona if any of the below circumstances apply to you:

  • You’re a registered voter in Arizona
  • You live Arizona for at least seven calendar months
  • You have a business that transports people or goods within Arizona
  • You have an Arizona driver’s license.
  • You’re fully employed in Arizona

If any of the above applies to you, then you’re at least sure that you’re qualified to register your vehicle in Arizona.

Necessary Documents to Process Vehicle Registration

Like we said earlier, Arizona auto registration must be done in person. And that can be done at any AZ MVD office closest to you. But before then, you’ll need some documents to make registration possible.  First, you must have proof of car insurance. Not just any car insurance but one that meets Arizona’s stipulated coverage amounts.

Arizona Car Insurance Requirements

  • $15,000 per person.
  • $30,000 per accident for bodily injury.
  • $10,000 per accident for property damage.

That’s not all. You’ll also need to submit an emission compliance form especially for people living in Phoenix and Tucson.

For a hassle-free process, you have the privilege of registering and titling your car at the same time.

Visiting Your Local MVD Office

Now to the part you have been waiting for- visiting your local MVD office to commence your registration. At this point, you should have all the relevant documents. Trust us. This will save you a lot of trouble.

Required Documents for Arizona Auto Registration

  • A proof of emissions test, especially for people who reside in Tucson or Phoenix.
  • A completed form for title and registration application.
  • A document that proves your level I inspection; this is only necessary if you don’t have your car registration certificate. This is required because it helps verify your vehicle identification number.
  • A proof of insurance that complies with Arizona state laws
  • Your former out of state car title or your vehicles current registration certificate.
  • Photo identification like ID card and driver’s license.
  • A proof of payment for the registration fee.

So how long does your Arizona car registration last? We are glad you asked. Your Arizona car registration is valid for one year, two years or even five years. For vehicles not required to go through emission test, vehicle registration is valid for five years

In a Nutshell

Before you’re allowed to drive a car in Arizona whether newly purchased or used, you’re expected to register such vehicle. More so, you’ll need to ensure your car passes an emission test. If you need extra money to afford it, registration loans in Mesa, AZ could help. To do this, you can easily apply for a restricted three days use. You can get a three-day use form from the comfort of your home for just $1. All you must do is visit the service Arizona website, and you’ll be able to print your three days permit for only $1.

Temporary Arizona Auto Registration

So, you have read through all you’ll need to get your vehicle registered in Arizona, but you seem to be missing a few documents? Don’t sweat it. You can still register your vehicle temporarily until you get all your documents in place. For people who don’t have the complete document for full registration, you can apply for Arizona’s 90-day registration. And guess what? It costs only $15 and gives you a three-month window to drive your car without any hassle. And the good news is, in the future when you have all necessary documents to complete a full registration, your registration fees and taxes are backdated to the time you applied for a temporary registration.

There you have it, we hope this information has been at least helpful to someone out there.

 

Categories: Automotive

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *